You can still see the reflection of heaven in a muddy pond 

As I stood on a little wooden bridge with my husband on our two year anniversary, I starred into the muddy pond. Moody, emotional , agitated, I watched little turtle heads pop up in the pond. Feeling disconnected from myself, my life, my husband and more importantly, My source! As I continued to gaze into the pond, I noticed the refection or illusion of the sky in the muddy pond. As I continued to gazed I saw a refection a bird flying prospectively in the muddy water. Wow, I said to my husband. “The only things that are real or true in this life are the things that we acknowledge and give meaning to, everything else is an illusion.”Umhum” he responded as he slightly glanced at me through his peripheral view. 

Minutes earlier as we were walking through the park, a little boy leaped from a bench in the park. As he ran toward the pond, we noticed the object of his focus floating at the edge of the water. The boy squatted and watched his football, just within his reach. Immediately , I voiced how dangerous this was! O my what if he falls in and my husband responded with “I wonder where his parents are”! With every intention to continue our stroll without interruption, I saw a long stick and stated, “that would probably help him.” My husband picked it up and walked over to the edge of the pond and rescued the boy’s football. I snapped a picture from the camera on my phone. The boy’s face lite up with joy as he thanked my husband and immediately  jetted across the park grounds. 

I reflected on the beauty of that moment as I wondered what might’ve happened to the boy if we had gone to the beach instead, as I wanted. But, because of the distance and time it would take to travel to and from my desired destination, my husband opted out. He has to be at work early the next morning and we would’ve been getting such a late start. 

 Everything happens for many reasons beyond my comprehension. I chose to believe they are all good! 

 I love the refection of heaven in a muddy pond.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

